Food Glorious Food

June 24, 2009 at 12:54 am 1 comment

Vintage neon Dairy Queen sign, Ottawa, Canada.

Image via Wikipedia

I like food a lot. It doesn’t have to be fattening food, although I like that, too. It doesn’t have to be fancy or exotic. But I like some fancy pate and caviar when I get the opportunity to enjoy them. I just like food, and there isn’t much about food that I don’t like. Bananas. Mayonaise. That’s about it. I like spicy and bland, sweet and savory, bitter, sour, tart and salty. I don’t like them all together at once, though, which is probably why I also don’t like Pulparindo, a Mexican candy that is like a tamarind fruit rollup with jalapeno, covered in a thick layer of salt.

Some of my favorite foods as a kid were milk and any milk products. I could drink glass after glass of milk. It was cold and sweet and good. We didn’t really eat yogurt much when I was a kid. That didn’t come into vogue until I was older. We ate a lot of cottage cheese. My mom used to pair it with canned peaches or sliced fresh tomatoes or sometimes mandarin oranges. I liked the tomatoes best. Canned peaches are too sweet.

I loved ice cream like any kid. I liked vanilla with chocolate sauce or chocolate ice cream. Sometimes we had butter pecan or butter brickle, and I liked that, too, but they weren’t my favorite flavors because they were, again, too sweet. My favorite ice cream flavor by far was Braum’s peppermint ice cream. It was so good, especially in the summertime. We would stop at Blackwell, Oklahoma on our way to Texas for summer vacation, check into a motel and the whole family would eat peppermint ice cream for dinner, right out of the half-gallon container.

I liked novelties like Push-Ups and Drumstick, Fudgsicles and something we called frosticks. Frosticks were just chocolate covered ice cream bars in the shape of a Popsicle. They were probably actually marketed at one point in time as frost sticks, but in my house it was one word. My favorite was the Dilly Bar. A lot of people wouldn’t know what this is now, but they’re still in existence. You can drive to your local Dairy Queen and get a box. When I was a kid you used to buy them individually, and they actually made them in the store. They were a little patty of soft serve vanilla ice cream with the patented DQ curley-que. A Dairy Queen worker would then stick a Popsicle stick in the ice cream patty and dip the ice cream in the same chocolate used for the dipped cones. They would pop it in the freezer, and that was a Dilly Bar.

Other favorite foods when I was a kid were virtually anything my Grandma made. She was just great in the kitchen. She made fried chicken that was still better than any I’ve ever tasted in a restaurant. I can’t make it. I tried it once. I just made a mess and almost gave myself salmonella. My grandma used to make fried chicken using just chicken pieces, flour and salt for batter, and vegetable oil (probably corn oil). She would fry the skins and turn them until they were brown and crispy, but the inside wouldn’t be cooked yet, so she’d close the lid and simmer it on low heat until the chicken was cooked all the way through. The skin wasn’t as crispy this way, but it was still good. I used to eat an entire drumstick in about thirty seconds.

The perfection of my grandma’s homemade noodles was not to be believed. She’d make homemade noodles from scratch and then cook them with a beef roast or a whole chicken in a pot. My mom can do this almost as well as my grandma. I was inspired to try since my grandma passed away, and on the second try it was passable, but I still missed my grandma something fierce.

I loved fruits and vegetables. We ate a lot of them. Sweet corn was my favorite. I preferred it off the cob, since it got stuck in your teeth if you had them, and if you were losing them at the time, eating corn on the cob was just plain painful. I liked oranges. They were my favorite fruit. I also liked tangerines and apples and watermelon, grapes, plums and nectarines. I didn’t care for fresh peaches because of the fuzz. I also liked green beans and cauliflower and peas and carrots. Cucumbers and onions in apple cider vinegar are a fond memory. I didn’t like onions when I was a kid, but I would eat them that way. And green olives. Mmmm.

That’s enough of food for now. Maybe I’ll write a follow up some day. For now, I need to go eat lunch with Katina. We are going to eat at Taco More. Maybe there will be a whole description of our meal for my next entry.

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , , , , , , .

No Doubts Memory

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Katina  |  June 24, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Do Not eat at Taco More. Food taste great but does not sit well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 176,483 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

