I Pay a Vietnamese Man To Touch Me Every Couple Weeks

July 27, 2009 at 10:55 pm Leave a comment

The title of today’s post sounds more concupiscent than it actually is. The real truth is that I tend to go to a nail salon on average every couple weeks. At the nail salon I get my nails done and get a pedicure. During my pedicure I get a nice leg and foot massage in a chair that also massages my back. Since my feet are very ticklish I have to work hard not to kick the poor pedicurist in the face. The luxury of being pampered like this does cost me a significant amount of money.

However, I think it’s money that’s completely well spent. In our modern day American culture we don’t get touched much. Human beings require touch. However, what do we do when we don’t get it? Adults in our culture get touched when they shake hands. Sometimes, with good friends, we give and receive hugs. The rest of our touch is confined to sexual relationships and physical altercations. If we aren’t having sex with anyone, then we’re almost totally confined to handshakes and brief hugs. I don’t recommend picking fights.

What I do recommend, beyond getting a pet to cuddle with and pet, is going to the nail salon or paying a massage therapist. Or maybe do both. Aside from getting nails that are pretty, I also get to effectively hold hands for about an hour or so with a very sweet Vietnamese man named Philip. Philip has been doing my nails for about three years now and I chatter away as he’s doing them, so he knows me better now than some of my former boyfriends. I gave him a friends and family discount to make a purchase from my employer and he gives me discounts sometimes now on my birthday and holidays. I even bought him a present once of a tiny golden fat Buddha statue.

Without touch, human babies tend to wither away and die. They never develop properly. Maybe the lack of touch even causes adults to become weary or even a little crazy. So, I would like to thank the good people of the nail salon for rubbing on me and holding my hands every once in awhile. Just imagine how crazy I’d be without them.

Entry filed under: Health, Sex, Social Commentary. Tags: , , , , , , , .

More Food The Greatest Television Shows of All Time, According to Me

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 181,412 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

