My Fantasy Dinner Party

August 10, 2009 at 11:41 pm 2 comments

Steven Spielberg and Carrie Fisher. Photo take...

Image via Wikipedia

Have you ever wanted to have a fantasy dinner party? What if you could invite any eight people alive or dead  over for dinner? Who would you pick? I am going to attempt to pick eight people for my dinner party and to tell you why I would have them there. They don’t come in any  order of particular favoritism.

1. William Shakespeare – I think this one is pretty self evident. He’s brilliant. Perhaps the best writer of all time. I would want to pick his brain.

2. Steve Martin – A great writer, a funny and creative soul. I love The Jerk, L.A. Story, Roxanne, and Shop Girl. He’s wonderful. I hope he brings his banjo.

3. Carrie Fisher – The author of Postcards from the Edge and Wishful Drinking and the woman who played Princess Leia and co-starred in When Harry Met Sally. She is undoubtedly the wittiest woman alive.

4. Jesus – Depending upon how you feel about the issue, he could be my second dead guest or he  could be very  much among the living. He might not seem to fit in, but I think he’d be a great contributor to our conversation.

5. Don Henley – We have to have at least one musician, and he is one whom I greatly admire. He’s thoughtful, involved in lots of great causes. His lyrics seem to mirror a lot of my sensibilities.

6. Dorothy Parker – The wittiest woman that ever lived could give Carrie Fisher a run for her money, and I would love to hear stories from the Algonquin Round Table.

7. Eleanor Roosevelt – Out of all the guests so far, I think she might get along with everyone the best except for Jesus. Jesus loves everyone. I’d want to hear her views on the current world situation and her ideas on how to improve it.

8. Cary Grant – This is just because he fascinates me. I’ve probably read at least five biographies on him. He was supposedly a fascinating raconteur. I’d want to hear all about his life from his viewpoint.

Of course, I can think of more people I’d like to have dinner with besides just these eight. However, I don’t want to have to cook for more people than that. Maybe I could win the Publisher’s Clearinghouse and have the event catered.

Entry filed under: Entertainment. Tags: , , , , , .

Whatever Happened to Common Courtesy and Decency? Cyberstalking

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shy Guy  |  September 11, 2009 at 4:34 am

    As Dorothy Parker once said
    To her boyfriend, “fair thee well”
    As Columbus announced when he knew he was bounced,
    “It was swell Isabell, swell”
    As Abilard said to Ellois,
    “Don’t forget to drop to drop a line to me please”
    As Juliet cried into Romeo’s ear,
    “Romeo why not accept the facts my dear?”
    It was just one of those things

    Reply
  • 2. The Girl From Out of Town  |  October 24, 2009 at 6:11 am

    Just One Of Those Things is an Ella Fitzgerald song.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,566 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

