I Discovered John Shore

July 21, 2010 at 3:50 pm 2 comments

A few months ago, I discovered the most amazing writer on the internet. The guy’s name is John Shore. He’s a Christian. He’s smart. He’s funny. He’s not politically conservative. He’s a humorist and a moralist and, in short, his writing is just my cup of tea. I think John Shore is great, and it probably doesn’t hurt that he’s never written a word that I didn’t wholeheartedly agree with. The man is so WISE.

We could join a Mutual Admiration Society, or I could join his Admiration Society, which is growing. As of this writing, John Shore writes a regular religion column for The Huffington Post and can boast 1,486 Facebook friends as of today’s date.

This guy is pretty terrific and is now right up there with my all-time favorite writers. I cannot recommend him enough. Some of the best John Shore stuff is the post he wrote on Stephen Baldwin and the fake blog he created in order to solicit money for himself, as if he were Stephen Baldwin. Both are hysterically funny. I’ve provided links here:

http://johnshore.com/2010/04/26/7554/

http://restorejohnshore.wordpress.com/

John Shore also took on a subject that I have tackled myself on this blog, the extradition of Roman Polanski. Or, rather, the appalling lack of justice in the failure to extradite Roman Polanski, as it turns out. Read my take on things, and then his. They are eerily similar. Like I said, this guy is WISE.

I just discovered this blog post, which was published by Open Salon, yesterday. I checked, and if anyone is guilty of plagiarism, then I am. He wrote it first, and, dammit, he wrote it better. I think I hate him for that. He’s clearer, more concise, succinct. Just, in short, if I am indeed capable of brevity, he is a much better writer than I am. I’ve provided links for your contrast and comparison. First my blog post on Roman, then John Shore’s.

https://gooseberrybush.wordpress.com/2010/05/20/child-molester-on-child-molesters-no-prison-for-us/

http://open.salon.com/blog/johnshore/2010/05/14/hollywood_go_polanski_yourself

I realize that I am taking a huge risk in recommending John Shore for your reading enjoyment. Namely, the risk is that you will spend the time you might have spent reading my blog, reading John Shore’s instead. For the five friends who read my blog faithfully, that is your prerogative. (*SIGH*)

However, John Shore has just added a blogroll to his blog, and I want to be on it. So, I figure sincere flattery, caked on with a trowel, can’t hurt. Maybe more people than just you five lovely friends will read this blog if I get a link on a REAL writer’s blog. One can dare to dream.

Entry filed under: Entertainment, Writing. Tags: .

Monkeys Throw Poop Seventy-Two Hits In A Day: Can A Book Deal Be Far Behind?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John Shore  |  July 21, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Wow! This guy seems like a genius! I wonder if he’s gay? I sure hope so, because I’m dying to know him as well as I possibly can.

    Reply
  • 2. erika  |  July 21, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    WORD.
    i puffy heart him too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,254 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

