Seventy-Two Hits In A Day: Can A Book Deal Be Far Behind?

July 26, 2010 at 5:18 pm 2 comments

So, for those of you Amanda, The Girl From Out of Town, Kurt, Shawn, Katina, and someone who shall remain nameless, who faithfully read this blog, I have an update since I wrote my last post on the writer, John Shore. Not only did I get added to John Shore’s blogroll, but he also put a link to my blog on his Facebook page, with the status update of, “See, now THIS is how you end up on someone’s blogroll…”

After that, my tiny blog had 72 hits in a day and the next day had 25 more. Wow! The real John Shore even commented on my post. This is akin to the excitement I might feel if the world’s wittiest living woman, Carrie Fisher, officially endorsed my blog. (If you’re reading, Carrie, it’s not too late to leave a comment.)

Heady stuff. The most hits I’ve ever gotten on my blog before was in November of last year. I had 28 hits in a day. I don’t even know what I wrote about that was so popular. I think I only wrote one post that month, about going to the Texas Book Fair with the Shy Guy.

I probably average somewhere between one and three hits in a typical day. I suspect a lot of those are from my girlfriend in Dallas who has kids that interrupt her reading time, and since some of the subjects I write about are not suitable for children, the window gets shut multiple times and then, later, reopened.

So, for two days I had something that verged on a real live “audience” for my writing. But, alas, all good things must come to an end. The day after that there were two hits.

Since I posted my obsequious but genuine tribute to the great John Shore, someone has started a blog on Word Press that looks almost exactly like John Shore’s. He (or she) calls himself Fake John Shore, and he writes these posts that are pretty much the polar opposite of the views of the real John Shore. He also comments on the real John Shore’s blog. It is done in a funny way. Whoever writes it is obviously a very talented and humorous writer.

It’s a mystery. Who is this Fake John Shore? Is he friends with Fake Steve Jobs? Do they go out for coffee together at a Starbucks in the Bay Area? Is John Shore himself making fun of himself? Is it an admirer or a detractor? Is derision the most sincere form of flattery? One thing is for certain, I am not Fake John Shore. I’m neither that smart nor that funny. I’m lucky that I’m smart enough to get the joke. Frankly, I suspect that John Shore and Fake John Shore might be one and the same.

Here’s a link to the blog. Let’s encourage this guy in his perversion because, honestly, he is hilarious. It’s all in good fun.

http://thefakejohnshore.wordpress.com/2010/07/25/lets-talk-about-truth/#comments

Entry filed under: Entertainment, Writing.

I Discovered John Shore It’s Not Easy Being Green

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  July 31, 2010 at 12:19 am

    Hey girl!! I only opened it twice to read it that day. So you DO have a lot of fans now!! YAY!!!

    Reply
  • 2. John Shore  |  August 4, 2010 at 3:35 am

    I am NOT the fakejohnshore! (Though you’re right: he/she DOES write well, right? His/her stuff is so good it’s actually kind of scary.) But trust me: A: I don’t have time to write that sort of thing, and B: I SURE don’t have time to do writing that well anonymously.

    You know me. I’m large.

    You will be too, if you keep it up. You’ve got a real nice style.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 179,152 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

