Fat On the Inside

September 4, 2010 at 3:59 pm Leave a comment

Cover of "Crocodile Dundee"

Cover of Crocodile Dundee

I read an article yesterday on CNN’s website by a woman who had lost over one hundred pounds and managed to keep it off for a considerable amount of time. It was interesting. As someone who’s been on both sides of that fence, I can tell you I’d way rather be thin.

If you’ve never been fat and then thin or the other way around, then it’s impossible to describe just how differently people treat you. As a thin and pretty woman, the world is your oyster. People smile more, they’re kinder. And yes, some of the difference could just be in your personal level of confidence. But that doesn’t account for all of it.

Let’s face it. Not only is being thin healthier, it also affects your interpersonal relationships in many ways. Others aren’t as likely to view you as lazy or incompetent and aren’t as likely to be emotionally abusive.

When I was thinner, I wouldn’t say that I had to beat the men off with a stick. I had a lot more choices, though, and better choices. In over a year I’ve been hit on exactly twice. Once, it was by a toothless homeless man on the city bus, and once, several months later, by a short middle aged married man who told me that night that he’d once spent time in prison. [https://gooseberrybush.wordpress.com/2010/08/12/boyspeak/]

The year before, one man actually asked me out and then stood me up, and another guy had sex with me twice and then decided that he’d rather masturbate. I tried not to find that personally insulting. I failed.

When I was growing up, I remember my dad talking about some story he’d read or heard about Paul Hogan. You know, Crocodile Dundee? He said Hogan had divorced his first wife, the mother of his children, and married his sexy co-star, because his wife had become a large woman. It was immoral, but she was obese. He just couldn’t bring himself to be sexually attracted to her. My dad, a man who married a thin woman who later became obese, said it was a sad situation. I think he actually felt some compassion for Paul Hogan.

I could talk about the moral reasons for being thin, our bodies being temples and such. I could also tell you that I’m glad I spent some time being fat. Like the writer of the blog post on CNN, I hope that I’m always fat on the inside. People who have always been thin and beautiful don’t have to work as hard. The world loves them just for being thin and beautiful. So, while good looks don’t automatically make you a selfish bitch, you have to work harder to not become one.

Entry filed under: Health, Love, Relationships, Sex. Tags: , , .

The Ten Commandments The Accidental Stalker: An Ironic Tale of My Date with Destiny

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,566 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

