The State of the Blog Address

October 26, 2010 at 5:59 pm 1 comment

Rep. Mary Fallin

Image by republicanconference via Flickr

I am so pleased to report that this blog has received 46 hits today alone. And all I had to do was write a ridonkulously hyperbolic paragraph yesterday where I sarcastically threatened to kill myself because I’ve never given birth.

Seriously, I would never kill myself over something that silly. I realize that politicians feel that they have to fight dirty. It’s just so inappropriate to me. I think that mothers are very important people. What they do is valuable and should never be taken for granted. However, I would never cast aspersions on someone’s intelligence or competence because they are a mother, so I would expect that those women that are mothers would do me the same favor in reverse.

What Mary Fallin is doing is a cheap trick that sets back women’s rights. It might endear her to the more conservative voters in Oklahoma or to some women with children, but it hurts all women in the long run. She should be ashamed of herself.

The tiny blog is growing. Again, still not competing with TMZ or Gizmodo, but I have gotten over 500 hits this month. I started writing in May 2009, and I got exactly three hits that entire month.

On a personal note, I now have a job with a company that employs writers here in Austin, and I have an informational interview scheduled for lunch tomorrow with one of the members of the editorial department. It all happened by either divine providence or dumb luck, depending on what you believe. I know what I believe. God is good.

Entry filed under: Politics, Women's Rights, Writing. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Mother Governor Men, And More Scientific Research On Why I’m Doomed to Loneliness

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  October 26, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    AWESOME girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,254 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

