My Favorite Movies: For Jill Clayburgh

November 7, 2010 at 1:37 pm Leave a comment

I was sad to read about the passing of Jill Clayburgh, an iconic actress of the 1970s who almost always played strong women’s roles. Strong women’s roles are something that we don’t see enough of today. I can’t say that I strongly identified with Jill Clayburgh. She’s roughly my mother’s age. She was a cultured, pampered child who grew up in a wealthy home in Manhattan’s Upper East Side. She became a famous actress. We’re pretty far removed from each other.

However, she did find herself cast in roles that furthered the feminist agenda and made it popular and acceptable for a brief moment in American history. All women owe her a debt of gratitude for playing those characters so well.

The performance of hers that I like best is from the first season of Saturday Night Live when she plays Jill Carson: Guidance Counselor. That’s pretty funny stuff.

There is nothing that I could write about Jill Clayburgh that couldn’t be said more eloquently by those who knew and loved her and people who are more familiar with her work. Jill’s death got me to thinking about my favorite movies. If I had to make a list of those movies that I really, really love, the ones that speak to me or that I never get tired of watching, what would that list include?

The Sound of Music

The Wizard of Oz

Dead Poets Society

What’s Eating Gilbert Grape?

Pollyanna

Imitation of Life (the Lana Turner version)

People Will Talk

Parent Trap (the original)

The Philadelphia Story

The Fisher King

Requiem for a Dream

Legends of the Fall

Heartburn

Sophie’s Choice

A Time to Kill

To Kill a Mockingbird

Simon Birch

Dogma

The Rapture

My Girl

The Hiding Place

The Diary of Anne Frank

Band of Angels

Gone with the Wind

Poltergeist

My Best Friend’s Wedding

When Harry Met Sally

Casualties of War

The Accused

A Summer Place

Splendor in the Grass

The Quiet Man

Raising Arizona

Broadcast News

The Jerk

L.A. Story

Miracle on 34th Street (the original)

A Christmas Memory

The Empire Strikes Back

The Mosquito Coast

I Want to Live

Dead Man Walking

What Dreams May Come

I’ll Cry Tomorrow

It Happened One Night

Father Goose

Welcome to the Dollhouse

Gigi

Breakfast at Tiffany’s

On Golden Pond

Ordinary People

Never Too Late

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie

Thelma & Louise

No Time for Sergeants

The Breakfast Club

The Hills Have Eyes (the original, not the remake)

An Affair to Remember

Anne of the Thousand Days

Ghost

Dirty Dancing

The Hours

I could probably go on. What are some of your favorite movies?

Rest in Peace, Jill Clayburgh

Entry filed under: Celebrity, Death, Entertainment. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Early Christianity: The Apostle Paul Granny Squares

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 181,412 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

