“Thoughts” on a “Post-Feminist” World

November 10, 2010 at 1:00 pm 18 comments

That’s what a moron man named Dalrock calls his offensive blog. I got a few hits from his website and three comments from one of his readers that were so stupid and insulting that I refused to approve them, but I’ll recreate them here for your benefit so that you can see that, yes, ladies, these kinds of men still exist in the world.

Denial is not just a river in Egypt!

That one’s not so bad. Let’s look at the next one.

Yeah, cougars are desirable, because they’re easy. Great for a pump-and-dump.

I guess it never occurs to him that a cougar might find an idiot easy.

It’s always amazing to see the callous disregard for the truth that women display, especially when the topic concerns them personally and they are at a disadvantage. There are 174 comments here and not a single woman will admit the stark truth: the older you get the less desirable you become, period. No need for rationalization, no need for denial, no need for exceptions that only prove the rule. Everybody knows in their soul that this is the way it is.

You didn’t want to settle in your younger days, and now time is forcing the lesson. Why should any man worth his self esteem and self respect settle for an aging left over of the dating game when there are so many younger and equally shallow but much more attractive girls around. Women these days think they can slut around while in their prime and once well used, get some hard working fool to pick them up and support them when they’re too old to play the game anymore. There are men like that – confused and desperate men – but less and less of them, and there is a day of reckoning coming.

Oh, no! Not a day of reckoning! I should have married a jerk like you while I still had the chance. Why, oh, why didn’t I settle for someone who thinks my entire self worth should fit in my pussy? I guess the part of feminism where we support ourselves instead of having to rely on men to do it for us was also lost on this guy.

Dalrock himself is a real piece of work. Sadly, he seems to have quit school in the fifth grade since he doesn’t know that who’s is a contraction for who is and whose is the word used to show possession. His description about himself describes his wife as sexy, and while I’m sure she appreciates the compliment the fact that it is the ONLY adjective he uses to describe her speaks volumes.

Just what is so threatening to men about equal rights? Well, I’ll tell you. Not all men find it threatening. Maybe not even a majority of them find it threatening. A tiny proportion of the total male population are this militant about it. What makes it threatening to these men is the fact that they are weak men. Only a weak man finds a strong woman threatening.

In our “post feminist” world, Dalrock gets away with posting a blog piece called, “Have You Ever Beat Up a Girlfriend, Cause, Uh, I Have,” in which he finds domestic violence humorous. Why is it that a man can write like this about women? Are women the only “race” that it’s acceptable to treat this shabbily? If he wrote a blog post entitled, “Have You Ever Lynched a N*%%(#, Cause, Uh, I Have,” that blog post would have been removed already. But beating up women. Good times!

If you have a hard time believing that men like this still exist in the world, then feel free to click on the available links in this article to see de-evolution at work through natural selection. For Dalrock, it’s too late, but for the rest of these jerks, please, ladies, do not allow these men to procreate.

http://dalrock.wordpress.com/2010/11/04/have-you-ever-beat-up-a-girlfriend-cause-uh-i-have/

http://solomongroup.wordpress.com/2010/10/30/old-maids-over-40-still-feed-rationalization-hamsters/

Is this truly a “post feminist” world? Am I the only person who cares about equal rights for women because the rest of the world thinks we’ve “arrived” since men will let us vote and work and then come home to work again? Well, as long as the man who beats me still calls me sexy…

Entry filed under: Ethics, Human Rights, Men, Sexual Abuse & Assault, Social Commentary, Women's Rights. Tags: , , , , , .

Granny Squares A Lesson in Traffic Generation

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doomed Harlot  |  November 10, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Hi Gooseberry! Your blog looks interesting. I found my way here via Dalrock’s blog entry. I am a feminist but I have been reading and commenting on Dalrock’s blog lately. I find the anti-feminist men’s blogosphere endlessly fascinating. These men really do think in terms of a war between the sexes. Their world view is utterly bleak and depressing.

    FYI, the “Have You Ever Beat Up a Girlfriend” post is a parody of a similar post on Jezebel entitled “Have You Ever Beat Up a Boyfriend Because, Uh, We Have.” Dalrock’s point is that a man could never get away with writing a similar post because it would sound utterly dreadful; he is saying that there is a double standard because “feminists” allegedly think female-on-male violence is fine and dandy.

    I am not so sure he hasn’t misread the Jezebel post. He is certainly intent on unfairly slurring “feminists” as a group allegedly in favor of violence against men. But, in fairness, he is not himself supporting violence against women in his piece.

    Reply
    • 2. gooseberrybush  |  November 10, 2010 at 7:47 pm

      Thanks, Maggie. I would agree that women shouldn’t engage in violence against men, either, so I’m sorry if I maligned Dalrock unfairly with that.

      Reply
    • 3. Paul  |  November 10, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      DH,

      I’d like to know how you figure Dalrock misread the jezebel piece? I just reread it and I confess that I don’t see anything redeeming in that article at all. The author never once suggests that violence against men is wrong, in fact she does basically the exact opposite by pointing to several examples, and insinuating that they are hilarious.

      So please. Am I missing something?

      Reply
  • 4. Solomon II  |  November 10, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    I don’t get the big thing with women’s rights. Can you tell me of one thing that you haven’t been allowed to do, experience or have because of your gender in the last three decades?

    Didn’t think so.

    Me thinks what you mean by “women’s rights” is that women should have the right to be right about everything.

    Just like the post that started all this mess, you want to belittle any man who doesn’t agree that old women are super duper sexy and prized marriage material instead of just accepting that some men do indeed think this way, and those with options dont.

    Why is this concept so difficult? I don’t get it.

    Reply
    • 5. gooseberrybush  |  November 11, 2010 at 12:07 am

      If you read my blog post over you’ll see that I acknowledge that men prefer younger women and why they prefer younger women. I agree with you there.

      Nowhere in my original post did I say that men didn’t prefer younger women or even shouldn’t prefer younger women. There’s a biological reason for it. I acknowledge that and accept it. I also accept that women’s opportunities for marriage reduce with age, but that doesn’t mean that they’re non-existent. Some men appreciate mature women. I think if you’ll read my post again, you’ll get that.

      I don’t want to belittle men. I actually like men who are capable of treating women with respect, fairly and equitably. Your double standard is just one example of sexism. And that’s your opinion that women’s value comes from their sexuality. That’s fine. Then own it.

      The big problem with the double standard is that it’s one of the things that causes divisiveness between men and women because men pursue women for sex and then when they get it decide that the woman is not relationship material simply because the woman gave the man what he wanted — what he did himself. But it’s okay if he does it. This notion is antiquated. And though it never happened to me personally, it’s a good deal of the reason why you feel that women sometimes resent men. Since the man is not applying the same standard to himself as he does to the woman, that’s sexist.

      I believe that women should be given equal rights. That makes me a feminist. At least I own that label. I don’t pussyfoot around it. I don’t believe in a world that takes away men’s rights and opportunities, just one that creates more for women.

      When I see a world where just as many women are engineers and executives and elected to public office, where there’s a woman president, when we’re paid equally for equal work, then I’ll stop bitching. I get that I’m not going to convince you to agree with me. That’s okay.

      You don’t get it because you’re not a woman. Thanks for at least posting without being insulting this time

      Reply
      • 6. Solomon II  |  November 11, 2010 at 12:58 am

        Are you saying we’re living in a world where women can’t be President, engineers, or CEOs? Surely not. I know my school held several seats in the engineering department for women, and couldn’t find women willing to fill them.

        Then there’s Mrs. Clinton. She did pretty good there for a while. I personally would have supported Mrs. Dole had she ran a few elections back.

        Equal rights is just an excuse to complain, since by definition it can always be argued. Equal access, on the other hand, is guaranteed by the government and most corporate policy.

        Equal work for equal pay? Come on. There’s been at least three articles in major respected news publications in the past year alone where feminists were, and I quote, “celebrating” that they were earning more – not equal, but more – than their male counterparts for the same job for the first time in history.

        In addition, 82% of the job losses in the recent economic downturn have effected men instead of women. To be fair, most of the losses have occurred in heavily male dominated industries. I wonder if the opposite were true, a feminist would be open minded enough to see it that way. It’s possible, but highly doubtful.

        Feminists celebrate the differences between men and women when it suits them, while reserving the right to pretend those differences do not exist when it suits them.

        Can’t have it both ways. Either you can’t run for President or you can. Which is it? If you can, then go do it. If you can’t, then start a protest and I’ll be right there beside you. But if you simply want it to be easy, then you’re on your own.

      • 7. gooseberrybush  |  November 11, 2010 at 1:22 am

        I don’t want to be President. I don’t want to be an engineer. The inequality I’m speaking of has to do with social conditioning. Girls are brought up to think that math is something that boys show aptitude for, not girls. Also, I think that a great deal of the reason that we don’t have a woman President is that a lot of men, and even women, wouldn’t vote for one. I’m sorry if I unfairly assumed that you would be one of them.

        Things are improving on the pay front, but they’re not nearly there yet. I think I read an article recently that said that women earn 80 cents for every dollar a man makes. That’s still not fair, but it’s an improvement.

        I’m sorry that men were more severely affected by the downturn. That is sad. It’s also sad that more young women are finishing high school and entering colleges than young men now. That’s not cause for celebration. The real cause for celebration would be if both sexes were improving on an equal par with one another. I don’t want to see women succeed at the cost of men’s failure. I don’t think most women do.

        Some feminists do manipulate the system. Fair enough. That’s a good criticism.

        I like that a man will help me change a flat tire if I’m stranded on the side of the road, but I don’t expect him to do so. I thank him if he does because he’s been a gentleman, and it was an act of kindness. So, it’s kind of a metaphor, but I get what you’re saying about having it both ways. I try not to do that. I can change my own tire in twenty minutes flat.

  • 8. Cat Lady  |  November 10, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    I used to visit Dalrock’s blog but gradually it became clear he is:
    not too bright, not the most talented writer, and pretty much a one trick pony (hypergamy, slut shaming, you know the routine). The manosphere websites, at least the ones I’ve lurked on, have the same hateful tone that the earliest feminist extremist groups displayed.

    Neither viewpoint is acceptable to me. I am a longtime happily married woman who likes and respects men and I agree that currently the cards are stacked against men in some ways. There’s often sentiment displayed against men by women in our modern culture that is quite offensive and insensitive and that’s driving some of the manosphere rage. Healing and correction needs to take place, not more toxic waste from sites like Dalrock’s and others – I won’t be visiting that type of site/blog in future.

    Reply
    • 9. gooseberrybush  |  November 11, 2010 at 12:15 am

      Thank you for your thoughtful and insightful response. I also agree that healing needs to take place.

      Reply
  • 10. Gunslingergregi  |  November 11, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    ””””’I believe that women should be given equal rights. That makes me a feminist. At least I own that label. I don’t pussyfoot around it. I don’t believe in a world that takes away men’s rights and opportunities, just one that creates more for women.

    ”””’

    So you think woman need to be GIVEN equal rights. Just like they should be GIVEN alimony.
    Come on think about it just a little bit and you might just get it.

    ”””””I like that a man will help me change a flat tire if I’m stranded on the side of the road”””

    Equal pay equal work right.
    Except the work men and woman do not equal.

    ”””it’s a good deal of the reason why you feel that women sometimes resent men. ”””

    No a reason why some woman resent men that come up over and over is because men don’t give them equality.
    Not the woman earn equality or be equal but give equality.

    ””””””’When I see a world where just as many women are engineers and executives and elected to public office, where there’s a woman president, when we’re paid equally for equal work, then I’ll stop bitching.””””

    Yet when I mentioned alimony you couldn’t deal with it and said when everything is equal then woman won’t need alimony lol
    So you talk equal but don’t want equality in the shit jobs. Nor equality of rights for men and woman. Like the ability for a man not to pay a woman alimony. Doesn’t make sense.
    You want healing while you also want to make men pay. The thing is in a global marketplace you don’t hold all the cards.

    Reply
  • 11. funandfiber  |  November 12, 2010 at 1:18 am

    Well, am I rushing in where angels fear to tread? My husband and I talk about sexism, reverse sexism a lot. He was the one who pointed out that the tables are turning, and that men are the ones now that it is ok to bash. Find a strong, smart man on tv lately, especially in sitcoms. Men are portrayed as overgrown children. Do you remember a car commercial where mom is carrying the sleeping children from the car, followed by carrying the sleeping husband? I think the anger on both sides comes from feeling disrespected and slammed. As much fun as being snarky can be, we need to avoid it, or all we get is the same in return.
    ” A gentle answer turns away wrath,
    but a harsh word stirs up anger” Pr 15:1
    Do you have any idea how many verses in Proverbs deal with what we say? Ouch. Looking that one up reminded me of it.

    Reply
    • 12. gooseberrybush  |  November 12, 2010 at 1:31 am

      Thank you for the insightful comment. I understand that men are rightfully upset about man bashing. I don’t blame them at all for feeling that way. Some of the comments I’ve gotten from the manosphere lately have been offensive and ignorant, but some of them have actually made sense. These men are all in pain. Why, I don’t know. The answer is different for each of them, of course. Women have hurt them, and this is their response to that pain. They don’t feel respected or appreciated, which, of course, is the reason for feminism: that women do not feel respected or appreciated. Hopefully, we work to a new world where men and women have equal opportunities and learn to respect each other. I have a knee jerk reaction to being called a slut or a a hag or told to perform a sex act. Maybe they feel that they are forced to comment like that to counteract the images and portrayals you mention.

      Reply
  • 13. dream puppy  |  November 12, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    You are erroneously maligning Darlock for the “Ever beat up a girlfriend” post. It was a parody of this one: http://jezebel.com/294383/have-you-ever-beat-up-a-boyfriend-cause-uh-we-have

    Reply
    • 14. gooseberrybush  |  November 12, 2010 at 2:45 pm

      I acknowledged that in the comments section of this post, and I’ve also apologized to Dalrock directly for the error. Thank you for pointing it out.

      Reply
  • 15. dream puppy  |  November 12, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    I suppose then now I should apologize for MY erroneous-ness.

    I am interested in a rational and data based discussion. I am also for equal rights and equal opportunity. However, divorce courts, especially in places like Canada, are UNequal in their treatment of men. Affirmative action plans, regardless of their justifications, are also objectively unfair towards (white) men.

    Many feminists push for even more stringent laws governing both “equal” pay and unequal hiring practices, along with more special treatment in the courts. I don’t see how this is advocating for equality.

    Reply
    • 16. gooseberrybush  |  November 12, 2010 at 3:27 pm

      There are some feminists who do seem intent on having everything their way. I’ll grant you that. I’m not one of them. I do find it a grave injustice that men are not given custody of their children more often, for instance. If a man has demonstrated his ability to parent, and he hasn’t been abusive or neglectful, then there’s simply no reason why the woman should get preferential treatment by virtue of her second x chromosome. There’s adjustments to be made on both sides.

      Reply
  • 17. Paul  |  December 11, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    (I’m not the Paul who commented Nov 11.)

    Post-feminism usually depends on a straw-woman definition of feminism as shrewish entitlement bitchcraft. I doubt Dalrock and his ilk know any other kind of feminism.

    Reply
  • […] Pingback: “Thoughts” on a “Post-Feminist” World « Gooseberry Bush […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,254 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

