Gratitude: I’m Glad I’m Single

November 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm 5 comments

Xanax (photograph)

Image via Wikipedia

I am not distracted from my God by the pressure to serve my man. There’s no question about who’s number one in my life.

Being with the wrong person is a hell of a lot lonelier than being with no one at all. I know that I wouldn’t be happy with any of the men who’ve shown interest in me in the past. I have no regrets about that.

My money is my money.

My stuff is my stuff.

My space is my space.

My time is my time.

I don’t have to ask permission.

I don’t have to compromise, and I mean that in more than just the sense of cooperation.

I share myself with people I enjoy, free from obligation.

I can watch every stupid romantic comedy that’s ever released, in the theater, on debut weekend…if I want.

Flirting. Nuff said.

I eat what I want when I want it.

I can decorate in all flowers, all pastels, all pink and purple and cover my entire bed with stuffed animals…if I want.

I never have to pretend that I give a rat’s ass about football, ever, again.

I can save money on Xanax by not having to worry about whether or not some man likes me.

I am responsible for myself alone. I do not have a man or children who are relying on my financial contributions to the household.

If I want to bury my nose in a book all evening, then I can. And no one will bitch about it.

Drama free.

Shit free.

No need for birth control or Brazilian wax.

Freedom.

My Self.

Entry filed under: Chrisitanity, Faith, Health, Love, Marriage, Men, Relationships, Social Commentary, Spirituality. Tags: , , .

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo I Love Warren Buffett

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. popsdumonde  |  November 22, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Sounds self-absorbed to the max and ultimately lonely. I don’t believe God wants us to be alone. You must be young, by that I mean 30’s.

    Reply
    • 2. gooseberrybush  |  November 22, 2010 at 4:50 pm

      I spend time with my friends. I don’t think that God means for all of us to be married. There have always been unmarried women and, to a lesser extent, unmarried men. It is not God’s intention for everyone to be coupled up.

      Reply
      • 3. popsdumonde  |  November 23, 2010 at 3:34 am

        I apologize. You are right, not everyone is meant to be married.
        I was probably projecting my own loneliness here. I have been married and miss the easy companionship and comfort.
        I felt more rounded out when it was good.
        I also have felt that horrible loneliness in a house full of people. That is worse than being by oneself.

  • 4. jillspill  |  November 22, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    I like it.

    Reply
  • 5. stillsingle  |  November 25, 2010 at 12:57 am

    I predict that you are going to look back on this post one day, maybe not in the near, near future, but one day, and that you will marvel at how your perspective has changed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,566 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

