Carrie Fisher Emailed Me!

December 7, 2010 at 3:14 pm 4 comments

Carrie Fisher's Wishful Drinking played at Stu...

Image via Wikipedia

Okay, that’s a lie. But I got your attention, didn’t I? Actually HBO emailed me. Okay, that, too, is not true. The real truth is that I got an email from some guy who works for some internet consulting firm that’s probably been hired by HBO in order to drum up some grassroots publicity for Carrie Fisher’s HBO documentary, Wishful Drinking. Apparently he’s under the mistaken impression that I have some influence on the general public, all five members of the general public who faithfully read my blog.

Check out the email:

HBO Documentary Films

From: Mike Wierzenski 

Add to Contacts

To: gooseberrybushblog@yahoo.com
bltgreen.jpg (6KB)

Hello,

I thought you might be interested in HBO’s upcoming documentary WISHFUL DRINKING. Carrie Fisher’s hit stage production of the intoxicating autobiographical tale of her life, comes to HBO as a feature-length documentary. Debuting SUNDAY, DEC. 12 (9:00-10:30 p.m. ET/PT), the special combines archival footage with her one-woman stage performance, which was taped in June before a live audience.

In WISHFUL DRINKING, Fisher details her complicated yet eclectic extended family tree in Hollywood Inbreeding 101, employing a blackboard and wooden pointer.  Her father Eddie Fisher’s very public affair with Elizabeth Taylor ended what had been perceived and celebrated as a “storybook marriage,” and she and her brother Todd later watched both her mother’s and father’s “once white-hot bright star of celebrity slowly dim, cool and fade.”  In 1973, at her mother’s urging, the 17-year-old Fisher enrolled at the Central School of Speech and Drama in London; two years later, her life changed forever when she donned a white dress as Princess Leia in George Lucas’ “Star Wars.”

We have key art, stills, trailer and clips from the film [URL removed].

Feel free to share any of these assets, but please note that this site was designed specifically for webmasters.

If you are able to share this exciting content please send me a link to where it is placed on your site. Feel free to contact me with any questions.

The film debuts on SUNDAY, DECEMBER 12 (9:00 p.m. ET/PT), exclusively on HBO.

For more information: http://www.hbo.com/documentaries/wishful-drinking

On Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hbodocs & On Twitter: @HBODocs

Y’all, seriously, this is exciting. This is my first chance to whore myself out for Hollywood. I am so psyched. I would set it up so you could just click on a picture and see a video clip, but I’m hopeless at embedding video unless WordPress does it for you with YouTube or Google. So, just click on the links the man sent.

Now I wonder how these opportunities to whore yourself out for Hollywood come about. Is there swag involved? I mean, beyond links and access to embedded video and photos and stuff. Maybe a Coach bag. I really need a new purse.

And how did they find me? Have I become famous without my knowledge? Or was it a little surfing on a search engine for my blog post about Wishful Drinking the book? Maybe it was my link to Carrie Fisher’s blog on my blog roll ‘cause people do click on the link. That post I wrote about women getting married after 40, people clicked on Carrie Fisher a LOT when that post was Freshly Pressed. Okay, maybe not a lot. But a lot for this blog.

And what is a Social Media Consultant? What do they do exactly? I wonder if I could do that job. Can you work from home? Does it involve getting to meet Carrie Fisher? Does she email you directly if you get that job?

No matter. I DO love Carrie Fisher, and I think she is genuinely talented and the world’s wittiest living woman. The only way I could recommend a documentary from HBO any more highly is if Dorothy Parker came back from the dead as a zombie and HBO taped a one woman show that she performed live, one where she shot out pithy one liners while eating people’s brains, preferably in Carnegie Hall.

So, what I’m saying, people (and you know who the five of you ARE), is that you should be glued to your TV set this Sunday, December 12 at 9:00 ET, which probably means 8:00 Central Time for those of us backward bumpkins that live in the middle of the country. That is just about the time that Lubbock and I usually get together to watch Boardwalk Empire anyway. You know what I will probably be doing.

Entry filed under: Alcoholism/Substance Abuse, Art, Celebrity, Childhood, Current Events, Depression, Entertainment, Humor, Love, Media, Mental Health, Relationships, Social Commentary, Television, Writing. Tags: , , , , , , , .

More, Now, Again Al Pacino’s Public Service Announcement

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. popsdumonde  |  December 7, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    You had me going there, I would have read your post anyway, so does that make me one of the five? I know you have many more readers than five. I don’t understand why more people don’t comment though.
    I’ll have to wait to see this documentary for when it comes out on dvd. Should be good…enjoy!

    Reply
  • 2. sandraroffel  |  December 7, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Re-posted to Twitter and Facebook. Gonna harass the email guy into sending you a purse. I love Carrie Fisher, too.

    Reply
    • 3. gooseberrybush  |  December 7, 2010 at 9:44 pm

      I was totally kidding about the purse. Let’s not harrass the poor guy. He doesn’t deserve that. But thanks for the consideration.

      Reply
  • 4. Amanda  |  December 16, 2010 at 12:12 am

    I’m just now catching up on this and I think this is PROGRESS!!!! YAY for Gooseberry!! I like Carrie Fisher too!!! I read her book and thought it was good. I might see the film or show or whatever it is eventually. Like when I get to check it out at the local library for free. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 181,412 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

