The Kool-Aid of Personality

December 17, 2010 at 12:06 am 4 comments

A typical North American office

Image via Wikipedia

If you read this regularly, you’ll notice (or not) that I don’t write about my day job. Yes, I have one. Again, this blog doesn’t make me one penny.

I recently started working for a new company. I still socialize with people from my old company, a great company where I worked for three years. Let’s call my old company ABC Company. ABC Company is a multi-billion dollar company with division offices here in Austin.

Because I don’t want to lose my job or be sued for releasing proprietary information or any nonsense like that, I don’t usually write about my job. I just don’t even want to be tempted to write something that’s going to get me in trouble. Even now I’m not giving much away.

Suffice it to say that ABC Company was a great company to work for with good benefits and a top-notch, pleasant working environment. It is considered the premiere company in its field, and its stock is favorably rated. It’s a tech forward company run by a charismatic CEO, a sort of cult of personality if you will. People greatly admire ABC Company, and the corporate culture refers to this admiration as “drinking the Kool-Aid.” You could guess as to the identity of ABC Company, and you just might be right.

Now I work at XYZ Corporation. XYZ Corporation has a division office in Austin. They bought a wholly owned subsidiary that started in Austin, and they office some of their people out of this office. They also still operate the subsidiary under its original name with its original purpose.

So, like the other company, they are not headquartered here. XYZ Corporation is also a pleasant working environment. It’s very technologically adept. It’s publicly traded. They have comparable benefits and just as much free food and free concerts and other unusual perks as ABC Company did. You might even say that XYZ Corporation is the premiere company in its field. It has been around forever, and it has a stellar reputation.

Now if I mentioned the actual names of either of these companies you would know exactly what I am talking about because both of these corporations are multi-billion dollar household names with global presences. So, why is it that everyone that I used to work with at ABC Company looks at me at parties, wrinkles their foreheads, puts on an air of pity and tells me, “You know, you can always go back to work for ABC Company,” as if ABC Company were the only company in the world?

Is it because I no longer have to work on weekends or in the evenings or work in a call center? Or is it because it’s a smaller environment where my contributions are more likely to stand out in the crowd? Or is it because I really will have an actual shot at a writing job at XYZ Corporation, where they not only employ procedural and technical writers but have an entire editorial department that offices here in Austin? I’m confused.

*SIGH*

Entry filed under: Humor. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The Divorce Myth Why I Mostly Hate Reality TV

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. popsdumonde  |  December 17, 2010 at 1:08 am

    Sounds like a good move, especially if you get to write. Not working nights and weekends would be enough incentive for me.

    Reply
  • 2. Amanda  |  December 17, 2010 at 1:43 am

    Maybe they miss you? Or misconstrue what you are saying as griping? Are you saying it’s like comparing Apples to Oranges? Or Apples to Apples? You love me. 🙂

    Reply
    • 3. gooseberrybush  |  December 17, 2010 at 1:54 am

      Yes, I do love you.

      Reply
  • 4. Ava Aston's Muckery  |  December 17, 2010 at 1:43 am

    You had me at “free food.”

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 176,483 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

