Why I Mostly Hate Reality TV

December 18, 2010 at 1:07 am 9 comments

Brody Jenner in 2008

Image via Wikipedia

With a few exceptions like Top Chef, The Amazing Race, the first season of MTV’s Real World, The Biggest Loser and documentaries produced for PBS I really hate, hate, hate reality TV. Here’s why.

  1. Reality is boring. I live in reality. Why do I want to turn on my TV to watch it?
  2. It’s not really reality. It might not be “scripted,” but that doesn’t mean it isn’t staged.
  3. There are hundreds and thousands of great writers out there with great stories that need to be told, but Hollywood can turn out this so called reality schlock instead, for far less money.
  4. What is up with TLC? Why are they so obsessed with breeders? I mean, really, what’s up with that? The Duggars, the Gosselins, some couple here in Austin who had quints…do they have any shows that don’t involve copious amounts of rugrats? I like kids, but there are limits.
  5. Reality TV is part of the general dumb-ing down of America. Our children and teenagers, not to mention our adults that ought to know better, waste hours and hours of time watching the vapid exploits of morally bankrupt people, like, uh, I don’t know, the Kardashians, Paris Hilton, and the entire cast of The Hills. Seriously, have you ever watched some of these shows? These people make tons of money being shallow and vacuous. I swear if you hold Brody Jenner up to your ear you can hear the ocean.
  6. We now have an entire reality TV show centered around a teen mother who’s had her baby removed from her care by social services. What’s it called? Teen Mom. It used to be that if you got pregnant when you were in high school you had an abortion, gave the baby up for adoption, sponged off your parents, or lived in abject poverty. Maybe, if you were very lucky, had some help, and made some really harsh sacrifices, you got yourself through college and raised your baby, too. Now if you’re underage and you get pregnant, you can be a TV star. Great message to send teenage girls, America. Just great.
  7. It gives Americans a false sense of their opportunities. It further contributes to the good old American sense of entitlement. Dog the Bounty Hunter and Jesse James and all those kooky ghost hunters on the Sci-Fi channel can have their own reality shows. If I’m a junkie I can get on A&E’s Intervention. If I’m the kind of person who never cleans or throws anything away, then I can star on Hoarders. I am just as trashy, eccentric or downright loony as they are. I demand my own TV series. Give it to me. Now. Then other people can watch me so that they can feel better about themselves by comparison.
  8. It used to be that reality TV was called the news, and the news was reality. There weren’t many cute human interest stories or funny fluffy filler pieces. It was mostly war, famine, pestilence and politics. People actually cared about things like democracy and foreign policy and business, things that matter. Now it isn’t just Fox News that has the best fictional plots on television. Unfortunately, it’s most of our news. The news has become a collection of polarizing Op-Ed pieces delivered by “personalities” as diverse as Ann Coulter, Rush Limbaugh, Glenn Beck, Dennis Miller, Rachel Maddow, and Keith Olbermann. It’s about creating controvery, which creates ratings, which brings in advertising revenue. The news is no longer information; instead, it’s infotainment.

Entry filed under: Current Events, Entertainment, Humor, Media, Social Commentary, Television. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The Kool-Aid of Personality Take A Chance On Me

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. popsdumonde  |  December 18, 2010 at 1:17 am

    Great social commentary! Creating and exploiting controversy does generate ratings and gets the blood pumping. If that’s what I need to get my blood pumping, I’d rather be dead.

    Reply
    • 2. gooseberrybush  |  December 18, 2010 at 1:18 am

      I just laughed out loud, Pops.

      Reply
      • 3. popsdumonde  |  December 18, 2010 at 1:21 am

        That would have been good to hear.
        I wrote a blog tonight, I’d be honored to have your opinion of it.

      • 4. gooseberrybush  |  December 18, 2010 at 1:30 am

        Hi, Pops. I commented on YOUR blog, where a comment about your writing belongs. Always good to hear from you, friend.

  • 5. kayisacute1  |  December 18, 2010 at 3:59 am

    I just blogged about television in general. I have a television in my bedroom. I’m getting ready to get rid of it because I watch about 3 hours of television a week and most of it is online and most of that is movies rather than actual television.

    I think the only thing on television besides reality tv is Law and Order and CSI anyway, lol. Did you know they have a British Law and Order now that comes on BBC, no joke. smh

    Reply
  • 6. Babygirl  |  December 18, 2010 at 5:59 am

    Pretty cool post

    Reply
    • 7. gooseberrybush  |  December 18, 2010 at 4:06 pm

      Thank you.

      Reply
  • 8. funandfiber  |  December 21, 2010 at 1:36 am

    Yup.

    Reply
  • 9. Amanda  |  December 24, 2010 at 5:44 am

    I sometimes get sucked into them though. Mostly on the nights where there is nothing else on and I feel like vegging on the couch. I used to like News shows…..no more. Sad. Thank God there is always the written word. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,254 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

