Take A Chance On Me

December 20, 2010 at 11:58 pm 7 comments

A Walk to Remember

Image via Wikipedia

Remember the ABBA song? I love that song. There’s a video I found on yahoo.com today that is just great. A teenage girl named Sabrina is dying of ALS. Her family has arranged for her to have a “friendship” ceremony with her boyfriend, Matt. These kids don’t look like they’re too young to go ahead and get married. I would guess they’re sixteen or seventeen. And under normal circumstances, I’d be appalled, but if they both wanted to do so…why not let them?

It makes me think of the movie, A Walk to Remember. I think I’ve previously mentioned how much I hate Nicholas Sparks’ novels. The Notebook is one of his books that was made into a sappy movie. I usually think it’s schlock, but for some reason I love A Walk to Remember.

A few years ago, my great uncle (my maternal grandmother’s brother) lost his wife after a very long battle with cancer. He’s probably in his nineties now. He remarried, to a woman who was the best friend of his late spouse. They remarried right away. I mean it was practically like they embalmed my great aunt and then booked the church for a funeral/wedding ceremony. The woman he remarried to has since passed away.

Now a lot of our relatives were deeply concerned at how disrespectful it was to not wait the customary year to remarry after widowhood. Not me. I think my great aunt would have wanted him to remarry and to be happy. And who better to get married to than her best friend? Seemed like a win-win to me. And given the short amount of time that my great uncle had with his new wife it seems doubly good that they didn’t waste any time in walking down the aisle.

A lot of whirlwind marriages happen in wartime. People rush to the altar. When we’re talking about the greatest generation (my father’s generation), they made these marriages last and work. There were a lot of happy marriages made to virtual strangers during that time, much like the old arranged marriages where people grew to love each other.

Now I know that I’ve made a supreme fuss more than once about how I think that people should attain a certain age and maturity level before marrying, about how important it is to know someone in a dating context for a good long while before you choose to spend THE REST OF YOUR LIFE with someone…but what if the rest of your life might not be that long? Do what your heart tells you to do.

At the end of life the things that I think we regret the most are not the things we did that we are sorry for but rather the things we didn’t do. When it comes to love if you don’t act on that impulse sometimes you might miss an opportunity. As the hero from My Best Friend’s Wedding says, as he and Julia Roberts are dancing on a ship’s barge and the ship comes out from the shadow of a tunnel so poignantly (gotta love Hollywood’s subtle symbolism), the moment just passes you by.

So, there’s an exception to every rule. Be open to life’s possibilities.

Entry filed under: Death, Love, Marriage, Relationships, Social Commentary. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Why I Mostly Hate Reality TV Lyrical Mishaps

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. popsdumonde  |  December 21, 2010 at 12:21 am

    This is a very romantic piece. Are you trying to tell us you are going to be marrying soon?

    Reply
    • 2. gooseberrybush  |  December 21, 2010 at 12:24 am

      Just as soon as my doctor tells me that I have six months to live I plan to pick up the first breathing man I can find on the streets. You’ll be the first to know.
      😉

      Reply
      • 3. popsdumonde  |  December 21, 2010 at 12:50 am

        That’s very funny!

      • 4. gooseberrybush  |  December 21, 2010 at 12:53 am

        I had to be my old cynical self. Being so hopeful was making me uncomfortable.

        Seriously, you know that cynics are really just frustrated idealists and romantics, don’t you?

  • 5. popsdumonde  |  December 21, 2010 at 12:59 am

    Yes I have heard that. I thought your post was kinda….sweet.
    I read a quote today, “cynics are people who look down on those above them”. Not so sure about that one.

    Reply
  • 6. funandfiber  |  December 21, 2010 at 1:30 am

    My husband and I were married 15 years ago, after knowing each other three months. Granted, we were older, and it was a second marriage for both of us. Sometimes, you just know when it’s right. Look at how fast these kids co-habitat together, like that isn’t going to hurt as bad if it doesn’t work out?

    Reply
    • 7. gooseberrybush  |  December 21, 2010 at 1:37 am

      I’m so happy that you took a chance on love, and it worked out for you. What a testimony! You will be inspiring to many,including me.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,566 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

