The Fruit, The Fall & The Plan

January 14, 2011 at 1:22 am 8 comments

A screenshot from To Beep or Not to Beep.

Image via Wikipedia

Some of my readers seemed to get a little upset that I would say that birth defects or being born gay or transgender might just be a part of God’s plan. They mentioned the fall, when Eve and then Adam ate the fruit from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. One said that as he understood it God wasn’t in charge of the earth now.

Well, I think God’s always been in charge of the universe, not just the Earth. If not, then who is in charge? Us? That’s a laugh. Satan? That’s even funnier. God’s in charge right now. God was in charge back then. He may choose not to interfere on a daily basis or not to interfere unless we ask Him in, but make no mistake that God’s ALWAYS in charge. He can step in any old time that He likes.

I also stand by my statement that what we often perceive as people’s imperfections are a part of God’s grand design, a design so big and complicated that you can only see it from God’s perspective. Think of corn mazes and crop circles. You don’t know what you’re looking at until you see it from the air.

I don’t mean that what a lot of us would think of as diseases and defects are personally visited upon particular people as a punishment. That makes no sense. A little baby has done nothing to deserve fetal alcohol syndrome, as an example. I only mean that God purposely designed a world in which these things could occur.

Let me ask you something: do you really believe that God is so small that the mere eating of a piece of fruit totally thwarted his original master plan for the universe? That’s it. Us all-powerful humans learn the difference between good and evil, and all hell breaks loose. It’s back to the drawing board for God, like Wile E. Coyote.

No, the world is the same world that was created on day seven. The fall didn’t thwart God’s plan. But there had to be consequences for Adam and Eve’s actions. The consequences were banishment from paradise amongst other things.

What was Adam & Eve’s sin? Well, for one thing it was thinking that eating a piece of fruit would make them as knowledgeable as God. It was that arrogance and hubris. And for another thing? It was believing the serpent, taking the serpent’s word over God’s and assuming that God lies. It was failing to communicate with God and failing to trust God.

Why would God purposely create a world from the very beginning that included the possibility for error? Well, I’m not God, so I can’t know for sure. But I believe that there are three reasons. The first is so that we would learn to love one another in perfect love. We would learn that other human beings sometimes require help and care. We would learn compassion that way. When we show love for our fellow human beings that pleases God.

The second reason is that if God created a world that was all paradise all the time, then it wouldn’t really be paradise anymore. In order to recognize that you’ve got it good there has to be a corresponding opposite state of bad. Otherwise, good is just the status quo. There’s nothing good about it. It’s just what you’re entitled to as a child of God. Ho hum. Just another day in paradise.

Adam: Do you think God will walk through the garden again tonight?

Eve: Who cares? There’s no reason to talk with Him. We have everything we need.

Serpent: Psssssssssssssssssssssssst!

And the final reason that I believe that God created a perfect world of imperfection: so that we would learn to love God and to rely on God. The whole reason that the human race was created in the first place was to be in relationship with God. If we have free will and everything goes hunky dorey for us all the time, then there’s not much reason to be in communication with God. To thank him, some of you might say. But how do you recognize the need for gratitude when everything is just perfect all the time? That’s just the way it is. Why would I want to thank anyone?

If God didn’t want to be in communion with us he would have chosen, instead, to make us pretty dolls that he could just sort of move about the world, in much the same way that a little girl plays with Barbie’s dream house. Greek mythology often refers to humans in much the same way, as the playthings of the gods. I don’t think we’re playthings. I think we were meant to be companions. God didn’t create us just because he was bored. He created us because he was lonely.

I’m not so full of myself that I think these ideas are original to me. I’m sure that if I had gone to seminary that I could give you the name of at least one famous theologian who thinks the same way I do on the subject and can probably discourse on it much more intelligently than I can. What I’m doing is articulating my theology in a way that works for me. Hopefully, it works for you, too.

You can disagree. God made as many viewpoints in the world as there are people. The important thing is that we do think about God and speak with God and spend time with God and live our lives according to what we can best divine to be His will. But it would be a mistake to ever think that we can comprehend God’s plan for the universe, no matter how much time we spend reading the Bible…or how much fruit we eat.

Entry filed under: Chrisitanity, Faith, Love, Relationships, Spirituality, The Holy Bible, Theology. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The Perfection of Imperfection Love & Other Drugs

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. popsdumonde  |  January 14, 2011 at 1:48 am

    I for one didn’t get upset that you think birth defects are part of God’s plan, nor does it bother me that you believe gender, gay issues are part of His plan. My God loves everyone and blesses us all.

    God’s plans are His plans, who am I to presume I know what they are? “All things work together for good, for those that love the Lord.” What upsets me is for any issue to separate anyone from the love of God! If you’re looking for controversy, you will not get it from me.

    God is ultimately in control, His will ultimately will be fulfilled.

    I have many defects, I have broken all the commandments and yet even at my worst God loved me. He loved me first. now I love Him. The only one that stood between me and the love of God was and is me. He loves us just as we are and offers more, do you want more? I do!

    You’re intelligent, study up on who is the leassee of the earth. That contract is about to expire.

    Reply
    • 2. Author  |  January 14, 2011 at 3:01 am

      Good thoughts there. You make some excellent points.

      I don’t think any issue can separate any of us from the love of God, unless we choose to make it so.

      I think that the lessee of the earth is the human race. I don’t believe that Satan is actually in charge anywhere except hell. The fact that the contract is going to expire doesn’t bother me one bit. It actually comforts me that some day we will come home to God’s house. I know that God is the leasor, and I am more interested in studying the lessor.Yes, Satan is real. Maybe not in the pitchfork, horns and tail sense, but I’m just not interested in spending any time with him or on him. I want to immerse myself in my Savior instead. And I believe that will be more than enough protection against any charms or tricks that Satan may employ.

      Reply
      • 3. Author  |  January 14, 2011 at 3:04 am

        Oh, and for the record, I absolutely believe that if God wanted to be in charge of hell as well, nothing could stop Him. Satan may challenge us, but he is no match for God.

      • 4. popsdumonde  |  January 15, 2011 at 7:41 pm

        What are your thoughts on Matthew 4 verses 8&9 ?

      • 5. Author  |  January 16, 2011 at 12:52 am

        My thoughts are, in a nutshell, that Satan is speaking in these verses. And what do we know about Satan? He lies.

      • 6. popsdumonde  |  January 16, 2011 at 4:33 am

        I appreciated the thoughts out of a nutshell also!

  • 7. joi (stereoette)  |  January 14, 2011 at 2:33 am

    have you read CS Lewis’ Perelandra? I just did and it really made me think about Adam and Eve’s fall… also? like you, I dont question God’s plan… I just praise him for letting me be a part of it.

    Reply
    • 8. Author  |  January 14, 2011 at 2:41 am

      Thank you. I also love C.S. Lewis. I haven’t read that particular book. Yes, I praise God for letting me be a tiny part of His plan.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,566 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

