Little Women’s Clinic of Horror

January 20, 2011 at 12:45 am 3 comments

A physician performs a routine checkup on a pa...

Image via Wikipedia

Another sensational news story, this time from Pennsylvania: one licensed physician who was not a board certified obstetrician/gynecologist and a possee of no less than 9 co-workers have been indicted on murder charges, amongst other things. Don’t you know the Right to Life movement will pounce on this story? Of course, the clinic was run for low-income women.

Amongst the allegations:

  • Illegal, late term abortions being performed
  • More than one woman dying needlessly after an abortion performed at this clinic
  • Unsanitary conditions, including cats and their litter boxes present in operating rooms and examining rooms
  • Blood and bodily fluids present on furniture
  • Viable babies being murdered after birth with scissors snipping the base of their spinal cords
  • Fetuses and severed fetus body parts being kept in jars
  • A clinic that had not been inspected by state health authorities since 1993, despite numerous allegations made by whistle blowers
  • Abortions being performed and anesthetic being administered by people who were not qualified or trained medical personnel, including some people as young as high school age teenagers
  • Abortions being performed without a doctor present
  • A “supervising” physician who was an actual board certified OB/Gyn who never bothered to supervise
  • A doctor who was hardly there whose chamber of horrors was only ultimately discovered when he was found to have issued an inordinate amount of prescriptions for strong pain killers like oxycontin (commonly referred to on the street as oxycoffin – because of people’s tendency to die in their sleep while on the stuff)

I can’t imagine the desperation of the women who must have felt it necessary to have an abortion in this place. My heart goes out to these women. I cannot believe that our society can’t make it a priority to provide these women with viable alternatives. Some people will be quick to judge, especially given the late term abortions. Let’s not forget, though, that a lot of otherwise perfectly “legal” abortions happened here, too.

Could no one on the “staff” of this “medical clinic” see what an outrage this was? Women were dying. Babies were dying. Did these women know, going in, what was going to actually happen to their babies? Something tells me that they did not. They were in desperate situations, and perhaps they trusted that a medical clinic would be run professionally by qualified personnel who would treat them and their fetuses with the dignity they so deserve.

Most states in the United States have infant safe haven laws where infants can be surrendered to health care providers and fire and police personnel. No questions are asked. Pennsylvania is no exception. Why not bundle the live babies up and take them to a hospital? Why were the bodies of fetuses mutilated?

If these charges are indeed true, then I think that we need to examine the collective psychology of an organization where such things routinely and commonly took place. Did these people feel that they were helping? Or did they just not care because these women and their babies were poor? Maybe they felt that their patients deserved no better. Just how did they justify their actions?

It sickens me. How many women had to die? How many babies had to die? Why is the war on drugs the final impetus that makes the government step in? Poor women dying needlessly from backstreet butcher abortions isn’t a priority. Maybe the mindset is that these women got what was coming to them.

I don’t believe in the death penalty, but if I did, then I think that the doctor in charge and his “supervising” OB/Gyn should both have their spinal chords severed with a giant pair of scissors. Afterward, we can remove their feet and hands and pickle them in a giant jar. Fill the rest of the jar with cat litter, preferably the used kind. That still might be too good for them.

Entry filed under: Child Abuse, Crime, Current Events, Ethics, Family Planning, Health, Human Rights, Social Commentary, Women's Rights. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Birds Die, Fish Die, Cows Die: My Oh My! Urban Planning

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Louella  |  January 20, 2011 at 1:58 am

    😦

    Reply
  • 2. Amanda  |  January 20, 2011 at 2:12 am

    I read a little bit about this story today and it made my skin crawl and my blood boil. What did this man gain from mutilating these women and children? Would he not have made the same amount of money had he done it cleanly and safely? No matter how little money that was?

    Most abortion clinics won’t even attempt to abort a fetus after a certain week of pregnancy. I know.

    I also know the mindset these women are in, or at least the mindset I was in. I had unprotected sex and didn’t want my parents to find out. So, I went to Planned Parenthood and they sent me to a local clinic for the procedure. I wanted it over with. I wanted to cleanse my body and mind of what I perceived as a very big mistake. A sin. A big sin. I was eight weeks along. The clinic was clean and the procedure was done safely. But I really knew no better.

    I have to live with this everyday of my life and there is not a day that goes by that I do not think about it. I do not agree with abortion anymore however. I just think there are too many other options. I believe it’s a sin against God.

    We must teach our children to either abstain or have protected sex. If neither works then we must open our hearts and minds to these women and take them in, love them and love their babies. They are our daughters, our sisters, our friends and God’s children. If a woman is in such a desperate place that she desires an abortion, at the very least it should start with
    counseling.

    It’s a desperate state of mind. He took total advantage of that to the most extreme in order to fulfill his sick fantasies.

    Reply
    • 3. Author  |  January 20, 2011 at 11:27 pm

      I agree with your assessment. I think abortion should be safe, legal, and extremely rare. There are extenuating circumstances in which I think that, sadly, an abortion is probably the lesser of some otherwise evil choices, such as health of the mother, incest, rape, or extremely young mothers, as was the case with the ten year old girl in Mexico, was it? I forget. But by and large, I agree with your assessment. I’m so sorry that happened to you. Thanks for your candor. I think this will help a lot of women.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 181,412 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

