Publish or Perish

February 13, 2011 at 8:21 pm 1 comment

chelsea8

Image by Ali Catterall via Flickr

Like the photo? It’s a photo of the interior of one of the suites of the infamous Chelsea Hotel in Manhattan. It will make more sense as you read on, hopefully.

Yesterday I went to my knitters and crocheters group and worked some more on the my dog is dead blanket. The knitters and crocheters group is something that I know I’m going to increasingly look forward to the more time I spend with them. These women are smart and funny, and they make things, cool things.

One young woman who was surely in her early twenties was making crocheted “food.” She made a strawberry and an apple slice while we were sitting across from each other. She pulled out some sushi and sashimi from her bag. She turns them into keychains and sells them on the internet, which doesn’t make her any money but does pay for her hobby.

“This is the shrimp,” she said, holding up a wrinkled piece of pink and white yarn. The tech writer, besides making little caps for premature babies, is now making the tiniest of baby bibs. I kinda wonder what preemie babies need bibs for, but they’re cute. Maybe they’re for baby dolls.

Then I went to Lubbock’s and hung out. She’s not very technologically adept, to put it mildly, and she couldn’t figure out how to post an ad on Craigslist to sell her vehicle. The last time I saw her we spent time watching Tosh.0 and trying to figure out if Tosh is gay or not. I’ve decided not. Then she had me show her how she could tell if her iPhone was using wifi or if it was accessing the 3G network for her carrier. I always just assume that people can figure out how to do things like this, but every once in a while I’m forced to acknowledge that not everyone knows these things.

I love Lubbock.  She might not know how to post an ad on Craigslist, but she knows how to make a kick ass dinner and a kick ass latte. And she has impeccable taste in books and movies. She loaned me a book written by Patti Smith about Robert Mapplethorpe. I totally love that I know someone who would buy a book by Patti Smith about Robert Mapplethorpe. I totally love that I know someone who knows who Patti Smith and Robert Mapplethorpe are. I would marry her if she were a man.

Speaking of love, I remembered what one of the Mr. Brewsters had said about doing something nice for someone else on Valentine’s Day, and I have a neighbor friend who is a dedicated single mother. I think she’s going to have a secret admirer this Valentine’s Day. I bought the cutest little dancing heart monster from Target. It sings, “You Got What I Need.” I’ll pick up some chocolates and a card and hopefully make someone happy. I’m kind of looking forward to it in the same way that I wish I could actually see the look on some woman’s face when she gets the finished my dog is dead blanket.

This morning I got up and went to church again. It’s the second time I’ve been. I think I liked it even better this time. It’s growing on me. The dog was back, something I was happy about. I met the blogger whose work I like so much, Julie Clawson, and I got to introduce myself. I don’t think the stalker chick routine scared her too much.

But actually, my favorite part of church this morning was that I initially sat down next to this woman who was wearing a Pucci pattern dress and struck up a conversation with her. It turns out that she’s new to Austin and the editor of a trade magazine. I didn’t tell her I was interested in writing for a living. I just listened to her talk about her life for a while. She needed an ear to listen, and it was nice to be able to provide that for her.

I did get to finally have coffee with the head of the editorial department at my workplace. And I found out where he sees his department going and what kinds of writers he’s looking for. I asked him what I needed to do to be considered for a position in his department should one become available, and his answer was to do some freelance writing. Apparently, he wants writers who have been published. Really? Somehow, that seems so unfair.

Actually, that’s my idea of sarcasm. Austin is a city full of professional artists, writers and musicians, academics, and future filmmakers, as well as the best of the best in terms of the semiconductor industry and visual graphics. The point is that he has his pick. I got my foot in the door, and I impressed him enough to get a coffee date, but it would show a huge sense of entitlement on my part to think that a seven hundred word writing sample alone will qualify me over more pedigreed individuals for a job that doesn’t yet exist. I want a highly coveted position, so I’m going to have to bring it. The thought intimidates me, but I know it can be done. I just have to make an effort. And if my recent experience is any indication, there are a lot of smart, competent women out there who just might be willing to lend their expertise to mentoring me towards my goal, but first I have to cultivate those friendships.

Life is a journey. This is another chapter in my road trip, like a sequence in a movie starring Bob Hope and Bing Crosby. Thanks for hitchhiking with me for long enough to read this.

Entry filed under: Books, Entertainment, Faith, Relationships. Tags: , , , , , , .

Funny Women: Marlo Thomas Buy A Girl

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sandraroffel  |  February 15, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    So if I read every post you log that isn’t considered “published?” Seems kinda unfair.
    Take heart. You have one of the best blogs I have come across and I am always excited to see when you post something new. Because I know it is relevant. I know that you are a critical thinker. I know that despite opinions and passions, you remain kind. (Which is SO rare these days)
    Cheers Gooseberry. This dream will be realized, maybe it will be different than what you thought, but it will come true.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,254 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

