Republicans I Kind of Like

March 2, 2011 at 12:48 am 5 comments

Dwight D. Eisenhower photo portrait.

Image via Wikipedia

My friend Amanda noticed, and rightly so, that I pick on Republicans a lot. That’s probably because I’m not a Republican and not likely to ever become one.

Also, I dig at Dubya a lot. Please let me explain why. It’s not because I think he doesn’t mean well or that I think he’s not a nice man. I am certain that he’s a super nice man, and he means the very best. I actually think I’d like him personally if we didn’t spend much time discussing politics.

However, he’s not a deep thinker or an intellectual (not that I think you have to be an intellectual to be President – but some book smarts definitely don’t hurt). He’s bragged about his poor grades in school. I take into account that a D at Harvard is still a D at Harvard, which can’t compare to my education, but it frightens me that he puts so little store by “book learnin’.” Since he married a librarian who made literacy her platform, it boggles the mind.

He was a phenomenal failure as a businessman. In my opinion, he misled the American public. He wasn’t qualified to be the President, unless you think the Bush last name by itself makes you qualified to run the country. I think he was greatly manipulated by much smarter, craftier puppet masters: namely, Dick Cheney and Karl Rove.

I think both September 11th and Hurricane Katrina were completely overwhelming for him. I don’t want a president who’s going to go into shock and then continue reading books to little children when he’s given news of a crisis. I want a president who’s going to be quick, effective, and decisive. I don’t want his handlers to have to tell him what to do. I want him giving orders to his team.

However, there are some Republicans that I don’t find silly, stupid, or objectionable for moral reasons (J.C. Watts and Jesse Helms, I’m talking about you two). I’d like to make a list of Republicans that not only don’t sicken me but for some reason I admire while admitting that none of them is perfect anymore than Bill Clinton is, so if I’ve neglected to take into account some scandal that should taint a good name…keep in mind that I don’t care.

Henry Kissinger – Because he’s brilliant. That doesn’t mean that I agree with him. It just means that he’s smart.

Elizabeth Dole – Because she rules with a velvet glove, always feminine. I loved the speech she made for her husband when he ran for President.

Gerald & Betty Ford – Because he led a nation divided and disillusioned by Watergate and reunited it and because her candor about her alcoholism has helped so many people.

Abraham Lincoln – I don’t think the Republican party of ol’ Abe’s day had much in common with the one we have today, but we can thank this man for leading a nation through a Civil War, abolishing slavery, and providing a peaceful example that inspired reconstruction. He was a great man.

Dwight D. Eisenhower – Because of the Interstate Highway System among other things.

Colin Powell – Because what’s not to love. He’s honest and trustworthy and smart.

Mary Bono – Because she took over her husband’s seat in the House of Representatives when he died suddenly in a tragic accident and then made that seat her own. And because she championed Greg Mortenson’s vision of bringing schools to poor villages in the Middle East.

Condolezza Rice – Because she’s a smart, warm, funny and feminine attorney who served the Bush administration well and faithfully. She’s a great example of a strong single woman.

David Petraeus – Because if we have to be in the war in Iraq we should at least make use of diplomacy and start moving in the right direction so that we can eventually leave. I think he’s smart.

Meghan McCain – She’s smart and attractive and hip and young and fun. She didn’t change her look for her dad’s campaign. She doesn’t waiver in her beliefs or kowtow to the religious right. It took courage for her to say that she didn’t agree with her father’s beliefs on gay rights. She did so without disrespecting him. For that reason, I respect her a lot more than I do Patti Davis, who agrees with my politics.

Barbara Bush – One of the twin daughters of George and Laura, Barbara has come out in support of gay rights, and I’m sure gay Republicans everywhere thank her for this. I assume that she’s a Republican; maybe she’s not. I like her either way.

This is by no means an exhaustive list, and I’d like to mention here that I don’t like all Democrats simply because they’re Democrats. For instance, I can’t stand Nancy Pelosi. Why? The woman has done nothing to me. Well, it’s just something about her. I think she’s so fake. I’d almost rather have to spend an hour or two chatting with Kay Bailey Hutchison. Come to think of it, I don’t want to chat with either one of them.

Entry filed under: Politics. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Charlie Sheen Is Crazy Anti-Semitism Rears Its Ugly Head…Again

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindylouwho123  |  March 2, 2011 at 12:58 am

    colin powell for president 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Amanda  |  March 3, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    You can’t dispute the fact that the American people voted him into office not once, but twice.

    We will just have to add this to our list of “agree to disagree”. I won’t hold it against you. 😉

    Reply
  • 3. charade539  |  March 4, 2011 at 1:04 am

    All I have to say about Bush.

    Christopher Titus: By the way, like him or hate him, you have to admit that president Bush has had the toughest presidency since Lincoln. This man has got to open up the newspaper every day just go…
    [pantomimes opening a paper]
    Christopher Titus: FUCK!
    [laughter]
    Christopher Titus: HOLY SHIT! There was a *hurricane*? AHHH! Cancel my spinach salad!

    Reply
  • 4. Dalrock Reader  |  March 9, 2011 at 3:05 am

    I’d encourage you to read Bush’s memoir, Decision Points – I always thought that Bush was smarter than he appeared, and reading that book made me realize I had underestimated his intelligence. He is a voracious reader of history, probably something he picked up from Rove.

    One fun fact – Bush outscored Kerry on the Pentagon’s IQ tests, and had higher grades than Kerry at Yale.

    Reply
    • 5. Author  |  March 9, 2011 at 3:13 am

      Thank you. Those are good points. I never liked Kerry. I don’t think many people did, which is one of the reasons why he didn’t win the election.

      Bush is probably underestimated, due in no small part to Bush’s own marketing of himself as an “everyman,” a choice he made to appeal to the American people. Bush is not just a good ol’ boy from Texas but is also part of the Bush family dynasty, which comes from a position of privilege based out of the East coast. He practically erased that for a lot of voters and appealed to their sense of the underdog, in order to win the election. The sad thing about this for most Democrats is that he wouldn’t have won the first election without the electoral college (Gore won the popular vote) and wouldn’t have won the second without the Iraq war, which some people feel was motivated more by greed than ideals.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,566 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

