My Fancy Shoes

April 3, 2011 at 5:38 pm 1 comment

The Town Lake Hike and Bike Trail at 30.2624° ...

Image via Wikipedia

One week ago yesterday and one week after my surgery, I joined Lubbock for the weekend, and we went to the North Austin Event Center to pick up her packet for the Capital 10K. Her enthusiasm inspires me. Like me, she doesn’t believe in running, but she is consistent in her efforts to work out, and she walks 2.5 miles every evening.

So, I was inspired enough to want to go with her to Academy where she also talked me into buying fancy shoes. When I say fancy shoes I mean the cool Nike+ iPod running shoes and the sensor that goes along with them. This represents a $100 investment on my part which was offset by $50 in the form of a Visa gift card contributed by Lubbock. I have generous friends. Actually, this was very savvy on Lubbock’s part, as a tool of motivation, since I hate exercise but love technology. I’m like a man about wanting the latest electronic toy. Also, I love that Mr. Landlord is an Apple junkie and a runner, and I was hoping to make him pea green with envy at the next Neighborhood Association meeting.

The sensor tells you how many miles you walked, how fast you were going, and how many calories you burned. It’s like the ultra pedometer. You put it inside your shoe. And the shoes are as light as air. They are without a doubt the lightest pair of tennis shoes that I have ever owned.

After the fancy shoe purchase we went to Town Lake (Lady Bird Lake for you newbies) and walked around for 2.5 miles. I did have to rest a couple times because I’m a total wimp. Well, I would have been totally okay if it weren’t for the fact that we had to take stairs, and it was hot out. Really, if it weren’t for inclines I could have done it without a rest.

After we walked we then synced the information to Nike, and voila! Now Lubbock can keep tabs on whether or not I exercise, which is a good thing because of that accountability thing. I am an inherently lazy person.

Monday Lubbock sent me an invitation to walk a 5K, which is 3.1 miles. Easy stuff. So, I paid my $30 to register, picked up our packets yesterday and walked 5K around some park in Cedar Park to benefit the Williamson County Humane Society. After we finished Lubbock took my picture with her iPhone and “threatened” to send it to my mother as proof that I was exercising.

Then we went to Cracker Barrel and probably ate twice as many calories as we burned.

To walk 3.1 miles two weeks after gallbladder surgery is not too shabby, I think. I can do it in a little over 45 minutes. Maybe I’ll keep this up. I love my fancy shoes. Now if only I could just click my heels together and lose 75 pounds.

Entry filed under: Health, Humor, Technology. Tags: , , , , , , , .

White Diamonds The Law of Supply & Demand

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  April 8, 2011 at 4:31 am

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!! Would love to see a pic of your shoes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 171,566 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 82 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

